CN100 Game of the Week preview: Boys Lacrosse - IHSLA Championship - Lacrosse Cup

See Naperville Central and Warren play for the Lacrosse Cup title on the CN100 Game of the Week.
See Naperville Central and Warren play for the Lacrosse Cup title on the CN100 Game of the Week.
HINSDALE – Another year, another showdown between bitter rivals Loyola and New Trier for the state lacrosse championship.

Loyola jumped ahead of New Trier in all-time state championships last year with a 9-6 win over the Trevians, the Ramblers’ 10th state title. New Trier has won nine titles, the last coming in 2011. The two teams did not face each other during the regular season.

The team teams renew acquaintances Saturday at 4:30 p.m. at Hinsdale Central. The Lacrosse Cup, the top two teams in the B-Class, will get going at 2 p.m., featuring Naperville Central against Warren. Both games will be broadcast by CN100, The Comcast Network, on Sunday, June 1. Visit cn100.tv for air dates and times.

Loyola beat Lake Forest 10-8 to advance to the title game. The Ramblers are a sparkling 15-0 overall and placed six players in the Chicago Catholic all-conference first team. Attackers Brian Callahan and Jack Penn, defenseman Will Nowesnick, goalie Mark Dezell and midfielders John Burns and Joseph Uhland all earned first-team nods. Midfielders Kyle Koch, Ryan Chesnut and Mark Dowdle earned second-team honors while defenseman Nolan Smith and midfielder Declan Harris were named to the honorable mention list.

Callahan and Nowesnick were named All-Americans by the Illinois chapter of US Lacrosse.

New Trier (14-2) beat Benet 10-6 to advance. Five Trevians dot the Central Suburban all-conference first team lineup. Attacker Ben Connelly, defenseman David Stacke, goalie John Anastos and midfielders Jack Hill and Matt Solberg earned those honors. On the second team, attacker Tyler Kroll, defenseman Chad Casas and midfielder Michael Riordan made the cut. Midfielder Kevin Mulhern earned honorable mention honors.

Connelly and Hill received All-Americans selections from the Illinois chapter of US Lacrosse.

Warren (17-5), in only its fourth season as a varsity program, beat Deerfield 14-6 to reach the Lacrosse Cup finals. The Blue Devils are led by defenseman Brendin Duckett and attacker Tanner James. Duckett earned first-team all-North Suburban honors with James making the second team. Defenseman T.J. Lynch and midfielders Spencer Hauser and Mitch Ryan were named to the honorable mention list.

Naperville Central (10-7) beat Grayslake Central 14-6 in the other Lacrosse Cup semifinal. The Redhawks are led by four first-team all-DuPage Valley honorees. Attackers Drew Flanagan and Scott LaPoe, defenseman Jake Moran and midfielder Adam Borgetti anchor Central. Faceoff specialist Colin McDonald and midfielder Ryan Coakley earned second-team honors, with Phillip Lipschultz reaching the honorable mention list.

- Paul Johnson, CN100 Correspondent


Stay up to date on all of CN100’s games this season by visiting our website, or follow Game of the Week on Facebook and Twitter to see where our crew will be next. When the games are done, tune into to see the best in Chicagoland prep sports each week with CN100 Sports Weekly. You can also find video clips and highlights with Sports Weekly on YouTube.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »